Epic Plugins: Year in Review 2015

January 5, 2016| Mike Stott

As I have done for the past two years I wanted to write my year in review for epic plugins. It’s been quite a year this year. I thought I’d write this post into a number of sections this time, but first a high level overview

Overview of the year

2015 started the year with a big change for digital producers, the introduction of VATmoss and the need to charge customers VAT based on the countries they are from. This meant 2015 kicked off with a complete tear down of our online store and the building of a new store (using WooCommerce and Taxamo) and in line with that, a new theme for the store pages.. phew.

OK, minor blip out of the way..

The rest of the year has been taken up with a LOT of development time spent on the plugin hunt theme with a whopping 71 new features added to the theme over the year. It’s crazy how much this theme has developed over the year compared to our very first version back on the 6th December 2014.

It’s been a year of fewer plugin releases compared to 2012 (8 plugins) 2013 (15 plugins and 1 theme) and 2014 (2 plugins and 3 themes) with 2015 coming in at (3 plugins and 1 theme).

In 2015 we released three new plugins (social gallery analytics, collections plugin and opinion8) but we also released a new theme (issue tracker) and experimented with other markets (iOS and a couple of SaaS ideas).

There’s been a bit of culling of plugins during 2015 to remove the plugins which were not selling well and difficult to maintain and or support. You can see the full list of plugins and themes at 31 December 2015 here.

Sections of this review in detail

  1. Timeline of events for the years
  2. A peak into our support statistics
  3. A look at our team structure

SECTION 1 – Timeline of events for the year

  • Jan 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 1.0 through to Version 1.8 released
    • 24 new features
    • 20+ bug fixes and improvements
  • Feb 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 1.9 through to Version 2.2 released
    • 10 new features
    • 5+ bug fixes and improvements
  • Mar 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 2.3 through to Version 2.7 released
    • 10 new features
    • 10+ bug fixes and improvements
  • Apr 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 2.8 through to Version 3.1 released
    • WordPress 4.0 compatibility updates
    • 4+ bug fixes and improvements
  • May 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 3.2 through to Version 3.4 released
    • 6 new features
    • 7+ bug fixes and improvements
  • Jun 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 3.5 released
    • 1 new feature
    • 0 bug fixes and improvements
  • Jul 2015

    Pulse WP developed

    • Baremetrics for PayPal Products developed to track own sales
    • PayPal API only available for business users
    • Kept as private product for personal use
    • Bugs in software need to be squished (with PayPal API issues)

    epic plugins year in review

    Social Gallery Analytics Released

  • Aug 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Go Squiggle iPad App Produced

    • A fun app to test the waters on the App Store
    • Initial traction but steep drop off
  • Sep 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 3.6 through to Version 3.6.2 released
    • 20+ new features
    • 5++ bug fixes and improvements
    • Complete redesign of a large number of template files

    Epic Hackers Theme updated with new voting functionality

    • Version 1.1 released
    • 10+ new features
    • 10+ bug fixes and improvements
  • Oct 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 3.6.3 to 3.6.4 released
    • 0 new features
    • small bug fixes and improvements

    epic plugins year in review

    Collections Stand Alone Plugin Released

  • Nov 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 3.7 through to Version 3.8 released
    • 4 new features
    • 5+ bug fixes and improvements

    Opinion 8 WordPress Plugin Released

  • Dec 2015

    epic plugins year in review

    Plugin Hunt Theme feature requests and updates

    • Version 3.9 released
    • 1 new feature (API integrations)
    • New licensing options introduced
    • 0 bug fixes and improvements

    Issues Tracker WordPress Theme Released

SECTION 2 A peek into our support stats

You can check out the full details of the support forum statistics here for 2015 compared to 2014. The highlights are:-

  1. I handled around 50% less of the support
  2. A support assistant (James / Karim) handled the majority of requests
  3. Support team replies were up to 1400+ replies to tickets in the year – an increase of 24%
  4. Support tickets (new queries from customers) increased to 572 new ticks – an increase of 42%

SECTION 3 Our team structure

2015 has seen the departure of Karim from our support team (he couldn’t take on any work outside of his studies due to his study visa plans) and the introduction of James into our support team during the year. There haven’t been any further expansions of the team with the majority of development and developer level technical support being handled by myself. We outsourced the development of the Opinion8 plugin and depending on how this project goes one of the 2016 goals is to look for additional development resources to help bolster our team

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating*